A guide to Virginia probate laws.
Anyone who is at least 18 years old or an emancipated minor, if they are of sound mind, may write a will in Virginia.
Every will must be signed by at least two competent witnesses in the presence of the testator.
Yes, but we recommend that you use two disinterested witnesses to avoid headaches for your heirs when you die.
An out-of-state executor must post a surety bond unless there is a co-executor who lives in Virginia.
Corporate executors must be authorized in Virginia.
Yes, Virginia allows for a holographic will, but it must be written and signed in the testator’s handwriting, and proved by two disinterested witnesses after the testator’s death.
If only a portion of the will is handwritten, it must follow witnessing requirements to be considered valid.
No, Virginia is not a community property state.
In a community property state, each spouse has an equal share of property acquired during the marriage. Property acquired before the marriage is considered separate property.
In Virginia, when there is no will, the court will determine who receives the intestate estate based on the laws of intestate succession.
Virginia’s laws of intestate succession state that if you left a surviving spouse only, then they inherit your property. However, if the decedent is survived by both a surviving spouse and children/descendants of someone else, the surviving spouse only receives one-third of the intestate estate.
Otherwise, when there is no surviving spouse, then the intestate estate will pass along in the following order:
For someone to receive the estate, there must not be anyone left in the category above them. If an inheritor is dead, then their share typically passes to their children by a per capita or per stirpes designation, depending on whether the heir’s descendants are themselves still alive.
While the testator is alive, the will may be filed with the circuit court, for “lodging, indexing, and preserving,” for a $5 filing fee.
After the testator dies, the will must be filed at the circuit court in the county where the decedent lived.
In Virginia, certain assets can be distributed with a small estate affidavit if the total gross value of personal property is less than $50,000, and it has been more than 60 days since the decedent died, and no one has been appointed personal representative (or no application is pending).
Additionally, an asset can be distributed without an affidavit if the asset is worth less than $25,000, more than 60 days have passed since the decedent died, and no one has been appointed personal representative (or no application is pending).
Such asset include bank accounts, brokerage accounts, tangible personal property, but not real estate or land (real property).
Recession-proof your money. Get the free ebook.
Get the all-new ebook from Easy Money by Policygenius: 50 money moves to make in a recession.
About the author
Elissa is a personal finance editor at Policygenius in New York City. She writes about estate planning, mortgages, and occasionally health insurance. In the past she has written about film and music.
Policygenius’ editorial content is not written by an insurance agent. It’s intended for informational purposes and should not be considered legal or financial advice. Consult a professional to learn what financial products are right for you.
Was this article helpful?
We make it easy to compare and buy insurance.
Security you can trust
Yes, we have to include some legalese down here. Policygenius Inc. (DBA Policygenius Insurance Services in California) (“Policygenius”), a Delaware corporation, is a licensed independent insurance broker. Policygenius does not underwrite any insurance policy described on this website. The information provided on this site has been developed by Policygenius for general informational and educational purposes. We do our best to ensure that this information is up-to-date and accurate. Any insurance policy premium quotes or ranges displayed are non-binding. The final insurance policy premium for any policy is determined by the underwriting insurance company following application.
Copyright Policygenius © 2014-2020