Cheapest SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
We found that State Farm has the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Wisconsin. On average, State Farm costs just $75 per month or $896 a year. That’s 59% cheaper than the statewide average in Wisconsin.
There are other affordable companies in Wisconsin that can file an SR-22 for you, including Grange Mutual and USAA. The cost of car insurance depends largely on the driver, so compare quotes from more than one company before buying.
Average monthly cost of SR-22 insurance
Average yearly cost of SR-22 insurance
West Bend Mutual
What is SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin?
An SR-22 isn’t actually a type of car insurance. An SR-22 is just a form that your insurance company files for you that proves to the state that you have insurance. In Wisconsin, you must have at least the following amount of insurance:
Bodily injury liability (BIL): $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Property damage liability (PDL): $10,000 per accident
An SR-22 is usually required for drivers whose license has been suspended or revoked, or after a serious moving violation, like an OWI or driving without car insurance.
Wisconsin state laws require that you have to carry your SR-22 for at least three years after you reinstate your license. If you don’t want to get an SR-22 and would rather give up your driving privileges instead, Wisconsin lets you surrender your license to the Department of Motor Vehicles and cancel your policy.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
When you find out you need SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin, there are a few steps to follow to get covered. The first is to check and see if your current company will file an SR-22 on your behalf, but if that won’t work, you should:
Find a company that offers coverage: Not every company in Wisconsin offers SR-22 insurance. If you're someone with a history of high-risk driving behavior, you may need to spend some extra time shopping for a policy.
Wait for your company to file your SR-22, or do it yourself: While most companies in Wisconsin will file your insurance for you in one or two days, you may have to fax or email your SR-22 yourself.
Reinstate your license online or in person: To complete the SR-22 process, Wisconsin lets you reinstate your license at a DMV location or online. If you reinstate your license online, you’ll have to pay an additional convenience fee.
How to file your SR-22 yourself
If you have to file your SR-22 yourself, Wisconsin requires you to submit the actual SR-22 certificate, not just a summary. You can email or fax the SR-22 form, which has to include:
Your insurance policy number
Your policy and SR-22’s start date
When you submit your SR-22, you also have to make sure that you indicate whether or not you own the vehicles, your state (which must be Wisconsin), and the name of your insurance company.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
If you’re licensed but don’t own a car, you may still need to get SR-22 insurance after a license suspension or a driving violation. Non-owners insurance, which is special, limited coverage for people who don’t own a car, can let you regain your license without a standard car insurance policy.
You can get non-owners car insurance from the same car insurance companies that sell regular car insurance, but it usually just includes basic liability coverage, which means it’s cheaper than a standard policy.
Like with regular car insurance, your insurance company can file an SR-22 with your non-owners policy. That said, non-owners insurance is less commonly offered than a regular policy, so plan on spending more time looking for coverage.