Cheapest SR-22 insurance in Michigan
Progressive has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Michigan. On average, Progressive costs $162 per month or $1,945 a year for high-risk drivers. That’s $2,736 cheaper than average.
Drivers in Michigan can also get cheap SR-22 insurance from USAA (if they’re in the military or a part of a military family) and Pioneer State Mutual. Cost depends on the driver, so make sure to compare rates before buying a policy.
Average monthly cost of SR-22 insurance
Average yearly cost of SR-22 insurance
Pioneer State Mutual
What is SR-22 insurance in Michigan?
SR-22 insurance isn’t a type of car insurance. It’s actually just a form that your insurance company files on your behalf that proves you have car insurance. An SR-22 in Michigan must show you have at least:
Bodily injury liability (BIL): $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident
Property damage liability (PDL): $10,000 per accident
Not everyone in Michigan needs SR-22 insurance. Michigan requires an SR-22 if you’re caught driving without car insurance, or after another serious violation, like if you get too many points on your license or if you’re caught drinking and driving.
SR-22 insurance in Michigan for non-residents
Under Michigan law, drivers who don’t live in the state or have moved out of Michigan still need to file an SR-22 if they’re caught driving without insurance. If you don’t, your license will still be suspended until an insurer in your state files an out-of-state SR-22 for you.
How to get SR-22 insurance in Michigan
The first step for drivers who need an SR-22 is to check with their current car insurance company. If you don’t have car insurance already or your current car insurance company won’t file an SR-22 for you, follow these steps to get SR-22 insurance in Michigan:
Find companies offering coverage: Not every company offers SR-22 insurance. Just to be safe, you should plan to spend extra time shopping around.
Pay any fines (and avoid having to pay twice): You’ll have to pay a fine of at least $500 if you’re caught without insurance in Michigan, so you’ll need to pay it before you can get your license back. If you let your SR-22 insurance lapse, you’ll have to pay the fine a second time.
Request a license reinstatement hearing: Don’t assume that just because you have an SR-22 that you can get back on the road. Michigan requires some drivers to request a hearing before they can start driving again. You may receive a notice from the state, but if you don’t you can check on the Michigan Secretary of State website to see if you need a hearing.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Michigan
Non-owner insurance is basic auto insurance for drivers who don’t own their own car. If your license is suspended and you don’t own a car, a non-owner SR-22 policy can help you reinstate your license.
It’s usually cheaper to get an SR-22 with non-owners insurance because non-owners insurance has lower limits than a typical policy. It also doesn’t include any of the coverage you need if you own a car, like comprehensive or collision.
Not every company offers non-owners insurance, and even fewer offer non-owner SR-22 insurance. Also, non-owner insurance usually isn’t available online, only by phone. If you’re in Michigan, you should plan to check with a few companies before you find a policy.