Cheapest high-risk insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut doesn’t require SR-22 insurance, but drivers still need to be insured. We found that State Farm has the cheapest average car insurance rates for those high-risk drivers in Connecticut who would need an SR-22 in other states.
GEICO and USAA also have cheap car insurance for Connecticut’s high-risk drivers. Since the cost of car insurance varies so much by the driver, it’s a good idea to compare rates before you buy.
Compare rates and shop affordable car insurance today
We don't sell your information to third parties.
Average monthly cost of high-risk insurance
Average yearly cost of high-risk insurance
Methodology: Why you can trust our picks for the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Connecticut
We found the companies with the cheapest high-risk insurance in Connecticut by calculating the average rate for drivers with a suspended license, DUI, or a reckless driving citation.
Our sample driver was a 30-year-old male driver of a 2017 Toyota Camry LE with average credit who had a policy with the following limits:
Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
Property damage liability: $50,000 per accident
Uninsured/underinsured motorist: $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident
Comprehensive: $500 deductible
Collision: $500 deductible
Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of insurance costs. Your actual quotes may differ.
Is SR-22 insurance required in Connecticut?
Connecticut doesn’t have an SR-22 insurance requirement. In other states, you’d need an SR-22 (a form that your insurer files to prove you’re insured) after being caught without insurance or after a driving violation, like a DUI.
Instead, Connecticut requires drivers who let their insurance lapse have to file an SR-37, or the Insurance Compliance Consent agreement.  Once your policy lapses or you cancel it, you have 14 days to get covered, pay the $200 fine, and file an SR-37.
If you were caught driving without insurance, your license and registration will be suspended for one to six months depending on how many previous offenses you have. You’ll also face a fine of $100 to $1,000 and an additional $175 reinstatement fee.
After other violations, your license will be suspended for a set number of days. The length of time depends on your history. You’ll also face other fines and penalties, like an ignition interlock (a breathalyzer in your car), that depend on the violation.
How to file an SR-37 in Connecticut
In Connecticut, your insurance company will alert the state once your insurance coverage lapses or you cancel your policy. You’ll get a Warning Notice and you’ll have to prove you’re insured. At this point, you should:
Try to get covered as soon as possible: When your coverage has lapsed for more than 14 days, Connecticut will send you a suspension notice and you’ll face more fines to reinstate your registration.
Look for a company that offers coverage: Not all companies will cover high-risk drivers with a history of serious violations or insurance lapses on their record, so plan to spend more time shopping for coverage.
Pay a fine and send in the SR-37: Send in the SR-37 form to the state’s DMV, along with the $200 civil fine and proof of your insurance and avoid more serious punishments, like a driving suspension.
Frequently asked questions
Is it illegal not to have insurance in Connecticut?
Yes, you must have car insurance in Connecticut. If you’re caught without car insurance, you’ll face a one to six-months long suspension, plus fines.
What are the requirements for an SR-22 in Connecticut?
Connecticut doesn’t require high-risk drivers to get SR-22 insurance, but they do require drivers to file an SR-37 form. Like an SR-22, an SR-37 proves that you have coverage after the state requests proof.
What is the minimum amount of car insurance required in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, you must have at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident.