The best car insurance in Olathe, KS

Ed Zuccarelli

By

Ed Zuccarelli

Ed Zuccarelli

Freelance contributor

Ed Zuccarelli is a freelance writer and former police officer whose law enforcement experience made him an expert in motor vehicle law and the car insurance industry.

Published November 12, 2021

Policygenius content follows strict guidelines for editorial accuracy and integrity. Learn about our

editorial standards

and how we make money.

The average cost of a full coverage car insurance policy in Olathe, Kansas is $1,477, lower than the statewide average in Kansas, which is $1,604. But Olathe drivers can save even more on their car insurance coverage by comparing quotes and shopping around before picking a policy.

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

Policygenius makes it easy to see options from top car insurance companies, so you can be sure you’re finding the best coverage at the most affordable rates.

Key Takeaways

  • USAA has the lowest average rates in Olathe at $769 for a full coverage policy

  • GEICO is the second cheapest company in Olathe, with average rates of $920 per year

  • Car insurance companies use different standards when setting rates, so comparing options from multiple companies will help you get the best deal

Cheapest car insurance companies in Olathe, KS

Car insurance companies use lots of different factors when determining your rates. Some of these factors can’t be controlled, like your age and gender, but some you can work to improve, like your driving record or credit score. 

The company you choose also affects how much you’ll pay, but the cheapest company for one driver isn’t always the best choice for another — that’s why you should take time to compare quotes before you buy a policy.

Company

Average cost

JD Power Rating

USAA

$769

890

GEICO

$920

871

State Farm

$1,068

881

Auto-Owners Insurance

$1,170

890

Iowa Farm Bureau

$1,217

--

Cheapest car insurance rates by ZIP code in Olathe, KS

Rates will vary based on where in Olathe you live. Drivers in denser neighborhoods with busier streets will usually pay more, because more cars on the roads means more accidents and claims.

ZIP code

Average cost

66061

$1,479

66062

$1,476

Choosing the right car insurance company in Olathe, KS

There’s a lot to think about when choosing the right car insurance company. Cost is a priority for most drivers, but you should also make sure you’re choosing a company with solid customer service ratings and all the types of coverage you need.

Policygenius can help you understand your options and compare rates, so you can feel confident you’re choosing the best coverage at the lowest price.

Car insurance rates for drivers with driving violations in Olathe, KS

Your motor vehicle report is like a report card for your driving, and insurance companies will look at your record to figure if you are more likely to have an accident and make a claim. More violations on your record means higher rates, so if you have had an accident or received a ticket or two, comparing quotes when renewing your insurance is even more important.

Violation

USAA

GEICO

State Farm

Auto-Owners Insurance

Iowa Farm Bureau

At-fault Accident

$1,150

$1,829

$1,271

$1,545

$1,810

DUI

$1,915

$3,449

$1,179

$2,780

$2,813

Driving with a suspended license

$1,802

$1,222

$1,179

$2,780

$2,813

Driving with an open container

$1,103

$1,222

$1,179

$1,408

$1,491

Driving with expired registration

$991

$997

$1,179

$1,186

$1,491

Driving without Lights

$991

$1,222

$1,179

$1,297

$1,491

Failure to show documents

$991

$997

$1,179

$1,186

$1,491

Failure to stop at a red light

$991

$1,222

$1,179

$1,297

$1,491

Cheapest car insurance for drivers with bad credit in Olathe, KS

Most car insurance companies will use your credit history to help determine your rates, and a lower credit score generally means you’ll pay more for car insurance.

Company

Rates for drivers with bad credit

USAA

$1,421

GEICO

$1,425

Nationwide

$1,812

Auto-Owners Insurance

$2,077

Iowa Farm Bureau

$2,111

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

Buying car insurance in Olathe, KS

Most states require that drivers have at least a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. Here are the Kansas state requirements: 

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person 

  • Property Damage Liability coverage: $25,000 per accident

  • Personal Injury protection (PIP): $4,500 per accident

  • Uninsured/underinsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident

Kansas is a no-fault state, that means that after an accident, drivers have to seek reimbursement for injuries through their own car insurance company, no matter who was at fault. That’s why all Kansas drivers are required to have at least a minimum amount of PIP coverage, which covers medical bills and injury-related expenses after a car accident.

How to get cheap car insurance in Olathe, KS

There are a few simple tips for finding the best deal on car insurance, no matter who you are:

  • Compare quotes before you buy, so you can be sure that you are not missing out on a better deal somewhere else. 

  • Make sure you understand the discounts you’re eligible for, like discounts for being a safe driver, paying your premium in full instead of monthly, driving fewer total miles each year, and belonging to organizations like AARP or AAA. 

  • Bundle your policies. Getting auto and homeowners or renters insurance from the same company can earn you savings on both. 

  • Shop before you renew. Even if you’re happy with your current company, you might be missing out on savings elsewhere, so reshop your car insurance yearly.

Frequently asked questions

Is car Insurance mandatory in Kansas?

Yes, it is illegal to not have car insurance in Kansas. Failure to maintain auto insurance is a Class B Misdemeanor which allows fines between $300 and $1,000 for a first-time offense, (or between $800 and $2,500 for subsequent convictions) There is also the possibility of jail time, and your future insurance rates may increase if you’ve been caught driving uninsured.

How often should I update my coverage?

Your insurance needs can change often, so updating (or at least evaluating) your coverage before your policy renews is a good idea. Changes such as a new vehicle or an added driver are obvious, but new offers of discounts and perks are easily missed if you don’t know about them.

What are collision and comprehensive coverage?

Collision covers damage to your vehicle after an accident, even if you were at fault. Comprehensive coverage pays for non-accident-related damage like storms, floods, fire, vandalism, or animals.

Methodology

Policygenius has analyzed car insurance rates provided by Quadrant Information Services for every ZIP code in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. For full coverage policies, the following coverage limits were used:

  • Bodily injury liability: 50/100

  • Property damage liability: $50,000

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 50/100

  • Comprehensive: $500 deductible

  • Collision: $500 deductible

In some cases, additional coverages were added where required by state or insurer.

Rates for overall average rate, rates by ZIP code, and cheapest companies determined using averages for single drivers ages 30, 35, and 45. Our sample vehicle was a 2017 Toyota Camry LE driven 10,000 miles/year.

Rates for driving violations and “Poor” credit determined using average rates for a single male 30-year-old driver with a credit score under 578.

Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of costs. Your actual quotes may differ.