The average cost of car insurance in Little Rock is $1,994 per year, which is slightly higher than the Arkansas state average of $1,772 and the national average of $1,652. Car insurance may be slightly more expensive in Arkansas due to the fact that the state has one of the nation’s highest rates of uninsured drivers. That being said, Little Rock residents have access to car insurance premiums well below the state’s average.
Ready to shop car insurance?
When you’re looking for car insurance, it’s important to shop around for the best value. Policygenius can help you get quotes from the top providers in Little Rock and find the insurance policy that best fits your needs.
USAA has the cheapest car insurance rates in Little Rock
USAA and GEICO have the cheapest car insurance rates for drivers with bad credit in Little Rock
Arkansas drivers must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability protection and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage
When you sign up for car insurance, companies use a variety of information to set your rate, including your age, gender, driving history, credit score, location, and more. While all companies rely on the same information, they each have their own formula for setting rates. As a result, the quotes you get may vary considerably from one company to the next. As you can see below, USAA offers an average insurance rate in Little Rock that’s significantly cheaper than any other provider.
As we’ve discussed, your location is an important factor in determining your car insurance rates. However, it’s not just your state and city that impact your insurance rates — your ZIP code can also be a factor. Communities with higher rates of crime, accidents, or uninsured drivers may have higher insurance premiums for those who live there. On the other hand, those who live in lower-risk communities may have lower car insurance premiums.
Because insurance rates can vary so much from one company to the next, it’s important to shop around. The insurance experts at Policygenius can answer all of your insurance questions, and we can help you get quotes from the top Arkansas insurance companies.
You probably already know that your driving history is one of the most important factors that determine your car insurance rates. Drivers with violations such as speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, and more generally pay higher insurance rates. And certain violations remain on your record for several years, meaning you may wait a while before your rates go back down.
Below you can see how some of the most common driving violations may impact your insurance rates. As you can see, the impact depends on both the offense and the insurance company.
Research has found a correlation between credit score and insurance risk. In general, drivers with poor credit are considered more likely to file an insurance claim. As a result, insurance companies often run a credit check when you sign up for insurance. Drivers with poor credit may end up with higher insurance rates, while drivers with good credit may save money.
Ready to shop car insurance?
Like most states, Arkansas requires all drivers to carry a certain amount of car insurance to legally operate a vehicle. According to Arkansas state law, no person may operate a motor vehicle in the state without the following insurance coverages:
Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident: This coverage protects you against claims when someone is injured when you’re at fault for an accident.
Property damage liability coverage of $25,000: This coverage protects you against claims when any property is damaged when you’re at fault for an accident.
Keep in mind that liability coverage covers your financial responsibilities when you’re at fault for an accident. But if the total damage exceeds your insurance coverage, then you may be personally liable for the remaining costs.
If you’re caught driving without the required insurance coverage in Little Rock, you may be subject to a fine of between $50 and $250 for a first offense, $250 to $500 for a second offense, and $500 to $1,000 for third subsequent offenses. You may also be subject to license plate removal, registration suspension, or vehicle impoundment if you’re involved in an accident.
In addition to the required liability coverage, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage must be automatically included in each insurance policy, though drivers can reject the coverage with a written statement.
Because insurance rates in Little Rock are higher than the national average, drivers may be looking for ways to reduce their premiums. Here are a few strategies to help you save money on car insurance:
Shop around: The insurance rate you get can vary from one carrier to the next. Policygenius can help you get quotes for all of Little Rock’s top insurance companies.
Save with discounts: Insurance companies offer discounts for purposes such as bundling your policies, driving safely, or having a vehicle with certain safety features.
Raise your deductible: The higher your deductible — meaning the amount you pay out of pocket before insurance coverage kicks in — the lower your premiums.
Arkansas drivers pay an average car insurance rate of $1,772 per year, but Little Rock residents have access to several carriers that offer cheaper policies.
USAA has the cheapest car insurance in Little Rock, with an average rate of $1,009 per year. Unfortunately, USAA is only available to military service members, veterans, and their families. The cheapest insurance available to all drivers is through State Farm, with an average rate of $1,283.
The factors that affect your insurance rates include your age, gender, driving history, driving frequency, credit score, vehicle you drive, location, and the exact insurance coverage you want.
Arkansas has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers of any state, which can result in the state’s insured drivers paying higher insurance rates.
Policygenius has analyzed car insurance rates provided by Quadrant Information Services for every ZIP code in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. For full coverage policies, the following coverage limits were used:
Bodily injury liability: 50/100
Property damage liability: $50,000
Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 50/100
Comprehensive: $500 deductible
Collision: $500 deductible
In some cases, additional coverages were added where required by state or insurer.
Rates for overall average rate, rates by ZIP code, and cheapest companies determined using averages for single drivers ages 30, 35, and 45. Our sample vehicle was a 2017 Toyota Camry LE driven 10,000 miles/year.
Rates for driving violations and “Poor” credit determined using average rates for a single male 30-year-old driver with a credit score under 578.
Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of costs. Your actual quotes may differ.