The average cost of a full coverage car insurance in Fresno is $2,438 per year, which comes in at $460 more than the state average of $1,978. Car insurance rates in Fresno are a little higher than the state average because of the fact that it is a metropolitan area with a higher population density than most other towns and cities in California.
Ready to shop car insurance?
The best way to save money on car insurance is to compare rates between several companies. Policygenius can help you see quotes from top companies and choose the coverage that’s best for you.
Wawanesa has the lowest average rate for full coverage car insurance in Fresno
The cheapest Fresno ZIP code for car insurance was 93723
California minimum liability requirements are $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $5,000 in property damage liability
Insurance companies all use the same information to determine your rates, but they each have their own internal systems to determine how much each individual factor should impact your overall rate.
Because of this, drivers who live in the same ZIP code and drive the same make and model car could get quotes that vary by hundreds of dollars each year, which is why it is so important to compare quotes from multiple companies when shopping for insurance.
ZIP codes are one of the biggest factors when establishing rates for car insurance because rates are determined, in part, by the number of accidents, traffic tickets, and car thefts in a given ZIP code. Other things like street parking and the availability of secured garage parking can also impact the rates in a specific ZIP code.
Below are the average rates based on the ten most expensive ZIP codes in Fresno.
It can be tough to find the right car insurance for you. Choosing the best car insurance company in Fresno means finding a company that offers a policy that meets your needs at a price that is affordable, which is why our insurance experts at Policygenius are there to help you find the right policy at the right price.
Driving history is one of the biggest factors insurance companies use when setting your rates — a single accident or moving violation could have a significant effect on your insurance rates, but driving carefully and obeying traffic laws can save you a significant amount, sometimes $1,000 or more each year.
Below are the average rates for Fresno drivers with moving violations or accidents on their driving record.
The state of California does not allow insurance companies to rate drivers based on their credit score, which is excellent news for young drivers and drivers whose credit scores are lower than they would like them to be.
Some states allow insurance companies to rate drivers based on their credit score because they believe drivers with lower credit scores are more likely to file a claim. California, however, has decided that rating based on your credit history can unfairly penalize some drivers, so they have eliminated this rating tool.
Ready to shop car insurance?
The law in California says drivers must carry one of the following types of auto insurance:
Motor vehicle liability insurance policy
Cash deposit of $35,000 with DMV
DMV-issued self-insurance certificate
Surety bond for $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California
The easiest and most affordable of these options is liability insurance, and drivers who choose to carry a liability insurance policy must have no less than the required levels of liability insurance:
$15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
$5,000 for property damage liability
California minimum insurance requirements are very low, which means drivers who are in a serious accident could still find themselves responsible for thousands of dollars in damages beyond what their insurance coverage offers. Drivers who want sufficient protection in the event of an accident should consider carrying higher levels of liability insurance.
State minimum insurance levels only cover bodily injury and property damage liability, which means drivers who purchase only the minimum aren’t covered for damage to their own vehicle and they have no protection against uninsured or underinsured motorists. Drivers who can’t afford to repair or replace their vehicle out-of-pocket should carry comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Insurance in Fresno is expensive, but there are many discounts that are available, including:
Good student discount - A discount provided to students who maintain a B average or higher, this discount can vary from company to company.
Bundling discount - Carrying all of your insurance policies with the same provider is an excellent way to keep your insurance rates low.
Safe driver discount - Many companies offer a discount for drivers who take a safe driver course, while other companies offer discounts on your premium or reduced deductible amounts for drivers who maintain a clean driving record for at least three years.
Group/employer/professional discount - Teachers, nurses, firefighters, and other professions often get offered a discount on their car insurance, while some insurance companies partner with companies to offer a discounted rate to their employees.
Low mileage discount - Drivers who don’t spend much time on the road are typically offered a lower rate than drivers who have long commutes.
Military discount - Many insurance companies offer a discount to active military members and their families.
If you don’t qualify for these discounts or they still aren’t enough to make your insurance affordable, the state offers a low cost insurance option for drivers who meet the income requirements. As of 2020, a single person must earn less than $32,200 per year to qualify. California's Low Cost Auto Insurance Program.
According to our research, the cheapest coverage in California is Wawanesa. However, just because they are the most affordable doesn’t mean they are necessarily the right insurance company for you. Comparing quotes from multiple companies is the best way to guarantee you are paying the lowest possible rate.
Insurance companies are allowed to rate based on gender in some states, but California is one of several states that have made it illegal for policy providers to use gender to determine insurance rates. Other states with similar laws are Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina and Pennsylvania.
Statistically speaking, teens and young adults are more likely to be in an accident because they have less experience driving. Insurance companies charge more for young drivers to account for the increased risk of insuring a driver who doesn’t have much driving experience.
Policygenius has analyzed car insurance rates provided by Quadrant Information Services for every ZIP code in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. For full coverage policies, the following coverage limits were used:
Bodily injury liability: 50/100
Property damage liability: $50,000
Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 50/100
Comprehensive: $500 deductible
Collision: $500 deductible
In some cases, additional coverages were added where required by state or insurer.
Rates for overall average rate, rates by ZIP code, and cheapest companies determined using averages for single drivers ages 30, 35, and 45. Our sample vehicle was a 2017 Toyota Camry LE driven 10,000 miles/year.
Rates for driving violations and “Poor” credit determined using average rates for a single male 30-year-old driver with a credit score under 578.
Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of costs. Your actual quotes may differ.