The best car insurance in Delaware

Ed ZuccarelliAndrew Hurst

By

Ed Zuccarelli

Ed Zuccarelli

Freelance contributor

Ed Zuccarelli is a freelance writer and former police officer whose law enforcement experience made him an expert in motor vehicle law and the car insurance industry.

&Andrew Hurst

Andrew Hurst

Senior Editor & Licensed Auto Insurance Expert

Andrew Hurst is a senior editor and a licensed auto insurance expert at Policygenius. His work has also been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Forbes, USA Today, NPR, Mic, Insurance Business Magazine, ValuePenguin, and Property Casualty 360.

Updated|3 min read

Policygenius content follows strict guidelines for editorial accuracy and integrity. Learn about our editorial standards and how we make money.

Delaware drivers pay an average of $2,110 for full coverage car insurance, which is about $500 more per year than the national average. But even in a small state like Delaware, rates vary: in Rehoboth Beach, the average cost of care insurance is $1,759, but drivers in Wilmington pay an average of $2,630 for the same coverage.

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

The best way to find affordable car insurance coverage is to shop around and compare rates before you buy. Policygenius can show you what you’ll pay with top car insurance companies, so you can choose the policy that’s right for you.

Key takeaways

  • State Farm has the lowest average rates in the state at $1,152

  • For Delaware drivers with poor credit, GEICO offers the lowest average rate

  • Delaware requires at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage of $10,000

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is also required in Delaware

Cheapest car insurance companies in Delaware

Personal details like your age, gender, and driving history, as well as where you live and what kind of car you drive all go into setting the rates for your car insurance. 

Because no two drivers are the same, the cheapest company for one driver isn’t necessarily going to be the best buy for you. That’s why you should always take the time to shop around and compare quotes before picking a policy.

Company

Average cost

JD Power Rating

State Farm

$1,152

881

USAA

$1,249

890

Travelers

$1,291

861

GEICO

$1,386

871

California Casualty

$1,764

--

Cheapest car insurance companies by age in Delaware

In Delaware and elsewhere, younger drivers pay more for car insurance than more experienced drivers. If you're insuring a teenager, you can pay less by looking for savings, like good driver discounts, or adding your teen to your own policy rather than buying a standalone policy for them.

Rates typically drop as younger drivers gain experience, especially if they maintain a safe driving record.

Age

Cheapest company

Average cost

16

State Farm

$4,315

18

USAA

$3,021

21

USAA

$1,822

25

State Farm

$1,366

30

State Farm

$1,162

35

State Farm

$1,143

45

USAA

$1,131

55

USAA

$1,079

60

State Farm

$1,070

65

State Farm

$1,066

70

State Farm

$1,127

Choosing the right car insurance company in Delaware

There’s no one right car insurance company that will offer the best rates to every driver. Always make sure to compare companies; rates change from city to city, and even between individual ZIP codes.

Policygenius can help you see options from top companies so you can be sure you’re choosing the best option for your needs.

Car insurance rates for drivers with driving violations in Delaware

Insurance companies consider a less than perfect driving record as an indicator of future claims. More severe violations, like an at-fault accident, will raise your rates more than, say, expired registration.

The more accidents or moving violations in your recent driving history, the more you’ll pay for car insurance coverage.

Violation

State Farm

USAA

Travelers

GEICO

California Casualty

At-fault accident

$1,387

$1,322

$1,323

$2,818

$2,265

DUI

$1,274

$2,407

$2,250

$3,271

$4,723

Suspended license

$1,274

$2,343

$2,250

$3,976

$4,723

Open container

$1,274

$1,998

$2,250

$3,271

$4,723

Expired registration

$1,274

$1,322

$1,323

$2,083

$2,004

Driving without lights

$1,274

$1,708

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Not showing documents

$1,274

$1,322

$1,323

$2,083

$2,004

Running a red light

$1,274

$1,708

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Failure to yield

$1,274

$1,708

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Following too closely

$1,274

$1,708

$1,323

$2,083

$2,004

Hit and run

$1,274

$2,469

$2,250

$3,478

$4,723

Illegal turn

$1,274

$1,708

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Improper passing

$1,274

$1,708

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Not-at-fault accident

$1,162

$1,322

$1,681

$1,648

$1,775

Passing a school bus

$1,274

$1,998

$1,871

$2,083

$2,004

Racing

$1,274

$2,407

$2,250

$3,787

$4,723

Reckless driving

$1,274

$2,154

$2,250

$3,787

$4,723

Speeding

$1,274

$1,708

$2,250

$3,787

$2,004

Cheapest car insurance for drivers with bad credit in Delaware

Drivers with poor credit generally pay more for coverage, so if you know your credit is bad, be extra sure to shop around and compare options before you buy.

In Delaware, drivers have the option to request that a company not do a credit check, and insurance companies can only use credit information when issuing a new policy, not for renewals.

Company

Rates for drivers with bad credit

GEICO

$2,034

USAA

$2,277

Travelers

$2,485

Nationwide

$2,717

California Casualty

$2,923

Car insurance costs in Delaware cities

Where you live impacts what you pay for car insurance, because companies will consider things like accident rates, reports of car theft and vandalism, even average repair costs in your neighborhood. Here’s what drivers pay, on average, in the 10 biggest cities in Delaware:

  • Wilmington: $2,630

  • Dover: $1,945

  • Newark: $2,309

  • Middletown: $2,092

  • Smyrna: $2,071

  • Milford: $1,867

  • Seaford: $1,867

  • Georgetown: $1,863

  • New Castle: $2,554

  • Millsboro: $1,849

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

Buying car insurance in Delaware

Delaware requires that all drivers have at least the following levels of coverage, all though most drivers need well over the state minimums in order to be fully protected:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000

  • Property damage liability coverage: $10,000

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP_: $15,000 per person; $30,000 per accident

Even though Delaware is an at-fault state, drivers are required to have a minimum amount of Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which pays medical expenses and related costs if you or your passengers are injured in a car accident, even if another driver was at fault.

How to get cheap car insurance in Delaware

Car insurance can be expensive, but there are a few simple strategies to making sure you’re getting your best car insurance rates:

  • Always compare costs when buying car insurance, and reshop every time your policy is up for renewal

  • Take advantage of discounts, like savings for safe driving and paying your premium up front as opposed to monthly

  • Bundle more than one policy, like auto and home or renters, with one insurance company to take advantage of multi-policy savings

Frequently asked questions

Which company in Delaware has the cheapest car insurance?

On average, car insurance from State Farm tends to be the cheapest in Delaware. Drivers may also find affordable coverage from USAA, Travelers, and GEICO.

How much is car insurance per month in Delaware?

On average, the monthly cost of car insurance in Delaware is $176 (or $2,110 per year). This makes it more expensive than the national average cost of coverage.

What is the minimum car insurance in Delaware?

Drivers in Delaware must carry at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 of property damage liability. Delaware also requires $15,000 of personal property protection — though it's not a no-fault state.

What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Delaware?

If you cannot provide proof of insurance when asked, the state may suspend your license for six months, and impose fines ranging from $1,500 to $2,000. Another violation within three years carries even higher penalties.

Methodology

Policygenius has analyzed car insurance rates provided by Quadrant Information Services for every ZIP code in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. For full coverage policies, the following coverage limits were used:

  • Bodily injury liability: 50/100

  • Property damage liability: $50,000

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 50/100

  • Comprehensive: $500 deductible

  • Collision: $500 deductible

In some cases, additional coverages were added where required by state or insurer.

Rates for overall average rate, rates by ZIP code, and cheapest companies determined using averages for single drivers ages 30, 35, and 45. Our sample vehicle was a 2017 Toyota Camry LE driven 10,000 miles/year.

Rates for driving violations and “Poor” credit determined using average rates for a single male 30-year-old driver with a credit score under 578.

Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of costs. Your actual quotes may differ.

Authors

Freelance contributor

Ed Zuccarelli

Freelance contributor

gray linkedin icon link

Ed Zuccarelli is a freelance writer and former police officer whose law enforcement experience made him an expert in motor vehicle law and the car insurance industry.

Senior Editor & Licensed Auto Insurance Expert

Andrew Hurst

Senior Editor & Licensed Auto Insurance Expert

gray linkedin icon link

Andrew Hurst is a senior editor and a licensed auto insurance expert at Policygenius. His work has also been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Forbes, USA Today, NPR, Mic, Insurance Business Magazine, ValuePenguin, and Property Casualty 360.

Questions about this page? Email us at .