The best car insurance in Blue Springs, MO

Ed Zuccarelli

By

Ed Zuccarelli

Ed Zuccarelli

Freelance contributor

Ed Zuccarelli is a freelance writer and former police officer whose law enforcement experience made him an expert in motor vehicle law and the car insurance industry.

Published November 15, 2021

Policygenius content follows strict guidelines for editorial accuracy and integrity. Learn about our

editorial standards

and how we make money.

The average cost of full coverage car insurance in Blue Springs, Missouri is $1,568, close to the state average of $1,526. But drivers in Blue Springs can save even more money by shopping around and comparing quotes from several car insurance companies.

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

Policygenius can help you see quotes from top insurance companies and choose the coverage that’s best for you.

Key Takeaways

  • USAA offers the cheapest average rates in Blue Springs at $746 per year for a full coverage policy 

  • 64014 is the cheapest ZIP code for car insurance

  • Missouri requires at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage

  • Missouri also required uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

Cheapest car insurance companies in Blue Springs, MO

Car insurance companies base your rates on everything from your age and location to your driving history and credit score. But insurance companies don’t all charge the same rates for the same coverage, and costs can vary widely depending on which provider you choose.

Company

Average cost

JD Power Rating

USAA

$746

890

State Farm

$1,030

881

Missouri Farm Bureau

$1,171

--

Auto-Owners Insurance

$1,245

890

Travelers

$1,374

861

Cheapest car insurance rates by ZIP code in Blue Springs, MO

Even within a smaller city like Blue Springs, rates can vary depending on where you live. Factors such as the number of accidents, tickets issued, and the amount of secure and off-street parking can influence the rates in your ZIP code.

ZIP code

Average cost

64014

$1,513

64015

$1,539

Choosing the right car insurance company in Blue Springs, MO

The right car insurance company for one driver isn’t necessarily the right car insurance company for another. Because rates are so personalized, the only way to find the best coverage for you is to shop around and compare quotes. Policygenius can help you see options from top insurance companies, so you can choose the coverage you need at a price that works for you.

Car insurance rates for drivers with driving violations in Blue Springs, MO

Even a single accident or moving violation on your record can mean higher car insurance rates. The best way to avoid this is to be a safe and careful driver, but if you do have a less-than-perfect driving record, it is even more important to shop around and compare rates.

Violation

USAA

State Farm

Missouri Farm Bureau

Auto-Owners Insurance

Travelers

At-fault Accident

$1,041

$1,217

$1,268

$3,399

$1,850

DUI

$1,355

$1,132

$1,462

$3,010

$2,020

Driving with a suspended license

$1,305

$1,132

$1,462

$3,010

$2,020

Driving with an open container

$1,094

$1,132

$1,462

$1,622

$1,773

Driving with expired registration

$947

$1,132

$1,171

$1,257

$1,773

Driving without Lights

$877

$1,132

$1,171

$1,622

$1,741

Failure to show documents

$947

$1,132

$1,171

$1,257

$1,773

Failure to stop at a red light

$947

$1,132

$1,171

$1,622

$1,773

Cheapest car insurance for drivers with bad credit in Blue Springs, MO

Insurance companies factor your credit score into your rates for coverage. Not all states allow credit to be a determining factor, but Missouri does, and the additional cost for drivers with poor credit can be substantial.

Company

Rates for drivers with bad credit

USAA

$1,399

Columbia Insurance

$1,954

Missouri Farm Bureau

$1,975

State Farm

$1,996

Nationwide

$2,185

Ready to shop car insurance?

Start calculator

Buying car insurance in Blue Springs, MO

Missouri requires a minimum amount of car insurance coverage, but remember that most drivers need well over the state minimums in order to be fully protected in case of an accident. Here are the minimum coverage levels that all Blue Springs drivers must meet:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000

  • Property damage liability coverage: $10,000

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per incident

Missouri is an at-fault state when it comes to accidents. That means the insurance company of the driver responsible for causing an accident must pay for the damage or injuries they caused. Under the state's pure comparative fault system, multiple parties can be at fault in an accident, and their degree of liability determines how claims are settled.

How to get cheap car insurance in Blue Springs, MO

  • Be familiar with your coverage options. Understand what each part of your car insurance policy covers and know how much of each you need.

  • Compare quotes. Companies will all charge you different rates, and they may offer different discounts and perks, which is why you should shop around. 

  • Do you own a home or rent? Bundle your homeowners or renters insurance with your car insurance policy and you’ll save.

  • Re-shop for your policy every year or so, even if it means changing companies. Car insurance companies compete for your business, take advantage of what they have to offer.

Frequently asked questions

Is car insurance mandatory in Missouri and what are the penalties for driving without it?

Yes, it is illegal to drive without insurance in Missouri. Drivers must show proof of insurance to any law enforcement official upon request, or receive a ticket for failing to do so. Consequences for failing to show proof of insurance can include points on your license or suspension of driving privileges.

I’m turning 25 soon, will my rates change?

Most young drivers see their rates fall once they turn 25, because they’ve aged out of the highest-risk age group. However, depending on when you got your license and your driving record, that may not be the case. But assuming you’ve kept a clean record and have been driving for around 7 years, your rates should go down once you turn 25.

What are collision and comprehensive coverage?

Collision coverage covers the cost of repairs for your vehicle even if you were at fault for the damage. Comprehensive coverage covers forms of damage not caused by a car accident, such as weather damage, theft, fires, vandalism, or animal damage. These are optional coverages by law, but are usually required for a financed or leased vehicle.

How often should I update my coverage?

You should be sure to reshop for car insurance yearly, especially if your rates go up. That’s how you’ll know you’re getting the best possible deal on your car insurance policy.

Methodology

Policygenius has analyzed car insurance rates provided by Quadrant Information Services for every ZIP code in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. For full coverage policies, the following coverage limits were used:

  • Bodily injury liability: 50/100

  • Property damage liability: $50,000

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 50/100

  • Comprehensive: $500 deductible

  • Collision: $500 deductible

In some cases, additional coverages were added where required by state or insurer.

Rates for overall average rate, rates by ZIP code, and cheapest companies determined using averages for single drivers ages 30, 35, and 45. Our sample vehicle was a 2017 Toyota Camry LE driven 10,000 miles/year.

Rates for driving violations and “Poor” credit determined using average rates for a single male 30-year-old driver with a credit score under 578.

Some carriers may be represented by affiliates or subsidiaries. Rates provided are a sample of costs. Your actual quotes may differ.