A guide to Texas probate laws.
In Texas, anyone 18 years old or older, or who is married or a member of the armed forces, can write a will in Texas.
Every will must be signed in the presence of the testator by two witnesses who are at least 14 years old.
Yes, but they may have to forfeit part or all of their inheritance if there are no disinterested witnesses.
Texas does not explicitly require the executor or personal representative to be a certain age, but the court is allowed to declare someone unsuitable, which is likely to happen if the executor is not of the age of majority.
Yes, Texas law allows for a holographic will but it must be written entirely in the testator’s handwriting.
Yes, Texas is a community property state.
Separate property is property acquired by a spouse before marriage or through an inheritance or gift during marriage. All other property, acquired by either spouse during the marriage is considered community property.
In Texas, when there is no will, the court determines who receives the intestate estate based on laws of intestate succession. (You can download the Policygenius app to create a will today, so the courts don't decide what happens to your property.)
If the decedent had a surviving spouse, community property will be distributed in the following manner:
|If the decedent is survived by:||Surviving spouse's share of community property|
|Children from the surviving spouse||Everything|
|Children from someone other than surviving spouse||One half|
Separate property will be distributed in the following manner:
|If the decedent is survived by:||Separate personal property||Separate real property|
|Children||1/3 to the spouse and 2/3 to the children||All to the children, but the spouse has a life estate in 1/3 of the property|
|No children||Everything to the spouse||1/2 to the spouse and 1/2 to the decedent's parents, or siblings if they are deceased|
Otherwise, when there is no surviving spouse or children, all property is separate property and then the intestate estate will pass along in the following order:
For someone to receive the estate, there must not be anyone left in the category above them. If an inheritor is dead, then their share typically passes to their children by per stirpes designation.
During the testator’s lifetime, the will can be filed in the county where the testator resides. After the testator’s death, the will must be filed for probate within four years from the date of death. Heirs must wait approximately two weeks after filing before they can have a hearing with the probate court.
When there is no executor, the court must prove the will, but it may determine that there is no need to administer the estate if there are no unpaid debts, besides a mortgage or other real property liens, and the court sees no reason to proceed with probate. This is called muniment of title, a unique feature of Texas estate law.
Don’t live in Texas? Learn how to make a will in your state.
Recession-proof your money. Get the free ebook.
Get the all-new ebook from Easy Money by Policygenius: 50 money moves to make in a recession.
About the author
Elissa is a personal finance editor at Policygenius in New York City. She writes about estate planning, mortgages, and occasionally health insurance. In the past she has written about film and music.
Policygenius’ editorial content is not written by an insurance agent. It’s intended for informational purposes and should not be considered legal or financial advice. Consult a professional to learn what financial products are right for you.
Was this article helpful?
We make it easy to compare and buy insurance.
Security you can trust
Yes, we have to include some legalese down here. Policygenius Inc. (DBA Policygenius Insurance Services in California) (“Policygenius”), a Delaware corporation, is a licensed independent insurance broker. Policygenius does not underwrite any insurance policy described on this website. The information provided on this site has been developed by Policygenius for general informational and educational purposes. We do our best to ensure that this information is up-to-date and accurate. Any insurance policy premium quotes or ranges displayed are non-binding. The final insurance policy premium for any policy is determined by the underwriting insurance company following application.
Copyright Policygenius © 2014-2020