Like what you're reading?
Get weekly money news & money moves delivered to your inbox
A guide to New Jersey probate laws.
Anyone who is at least 18 years old and of “sound mind” can write a will in New Jersey.
Every will must be signed by two witnesses who are “generally competent” and at least 18 years old.
Yes, they can be interested witnesses.
New Jersey doesn’t have any explicit requirements for choosing an executor, as long as they’re an adult. But a court is allowed to remove an executor if it considers them incompetent, or if the executor has committed fraud.
Out-of-state executors are allowed, but may have to post an executor bond.
Yes, New Jersey allows for a holographic will, but it must be written and signed in the testator’s handwriting.
No, New Jersey is not a community property state.
In a community property state, each spouse has an equal share of property acquired during the marriage. Property acquired before the marriage is considered separate property.
In New Jersey, when there is no will, the court will determine who receives the intestate estate based on the laws of intestate succession. Usually, the surviving spouse has the first claim.
This is how much a surviving spouse would receive in a few different circumstances:
|If the decedent is survived by a spouse and:||Surviving spouse's share|
|Children from the surviving spouse||Everything|
|No children from any spouse, parents, siblings, nephews/nieces||Everything|
|No children, but surviving parents of the decedent||First 1/4 of the estate, but not less than $50,000 nor more than $200,000, plus 3/4 of the remaining intestate estate|
|A child from the surviving spouse, and a child from a previous relationship||First 1/4 of the estate, but not less than $50,000 nor more than $200,000, plus 1/2 of the remaining intestate estate|
|Only a child from a previous relationship||First 1/4 of the estate, but not less than $50,000 nor more than $200,000, plus 1/2 of the remaining intestate estate|
Otherwise, when there is no surviving spouse, then the intestate estate will pass along in the following order:
For someone to receive the estate, there must not be anyone left in the category above them. If an inheritor is dead, then their share typically passes to their children by a per stirpes designation.
During the testator’s lifetime, the will can be registered, not filed, with the Office of the Secretary of State, which keeps a Will Registry. Registering your will in New Jersey means submitting basic information about your will, not storing the will itself.
The estate can file the will with the local Surrogate’s Court or Superior Court as soon as the testator dies, but it won’t be probated by the court until 10 days after the date of recorded death.
No estate administration is necessary in New Jersey if the value of the estate does not exceed $50,000, and there is a surviving spouse or registered domestic partner, if the estate is valued at $20,000 or less and there is no surviving spouse or domestic partner.
Easy Money by Policygenius
Sign up for Easy Money by Policygenius, a free weekly newsletter with exclusive content, personal finance advice, and bonus offers.
About the author
Elissa is a personal finance editor at Policygenius in New York City. She writes about estate planning, mortgages, and occasionally health insurance. In the past she has written about film and music.
Policygenius’ editorial content is not written by an insurance agent. It’s intended for informational purposes and should not be considered legal or financial advice. Consult a professional to learn what financial products are right for you.
Was this article helpful?
We make it easy to compare and buy insurance.
Security you can trust
Yes, we have to include some legalese down here. Policygenius Inc. (DBA Policygenius Insurance Services in California) (“Policygenius”), a Delaware corporation, is a licensed independent insurance broker. Policygenius does not underwrite any insurance policy described on this website. The information provided on this site has been developed by Policygenius for general informational and educational purposes. We do our best to ensure that this information is up-to-date and accurate. Any insurance policy premium quotes or ranges displayed are non-binding. The final insurance policy premium for any policy is determined by the underwriting insurance company following application.
Copyright Policygenius © 2014-2020